9 reasons I like action movies

I like drama. I really do. But, on a Friday night after a week at work, I love action movies. Actually, I like them all the time. Here’s some reasons why:

  1. They don’t require much higher order thought.
  2. I like the one-liner humour.
  3. The hero is generally a good guy/girl. You like the hero. This makes it emotionally less exhausting.
  4. While they may not involve talented actors, I do appreciate the beauty of talented people doing martial arts.
  5. They (usually) still care about plot; they have beginnings, middles and ends.
  6. Usually, the ending provides satisfying resolution.
  7. They invoke physical reactions — revulsion, shock, laughter, even cheering…
  8. I like that they use technology (on both sides of the camera).
  9. They spend a lot of money making things look good.
4 comments

Leave a Reply

