an incompetent anthropologist

An abridged transcript from my trip home on the tram last week:

Burmese Guy: You are Australian?

Me: Yeah…

Burmese Guy: I am not. I am foreign.

Me: That’s…good?

Burmese Guy: Can you explain for me Australian culture?

Me: Ummm… I don’t know. It’s what you see all around you. I’m not sure I can sum it up in a couple of sentences.

Burmese Guy: What about you? What do you do?

Me: I’m a student.

Burmese Guy: What do you study? What speciality?

Me: Anthropology.

Burmese Guy: And what is that? Anthropology?

Me: Ummm… the study of … culture.

I console myself with the fact I’ve only been ‘doing’ anthropology for a month!

7 comments

    1. I suppose I am a Christian Anthropologist… but I study in a mainstream University.

      Chris, however, would be much more interested in theological anthropology!

  1. Yes, I am also one of those who seeks a Pauline Anthropology. BTW, the John Milton quote is nice, and certainly touches the depth of the Christian spirituality… Ps. 130.

    Fr. Robert

    1. Speaking of pathological obsessions with sport, the Melbourne Symphony is currently advertising a performance of sporting anthems, including a medley of every AFL team’s team song…

      “a program full of inspiring sporting moments in music, including Chariots of Fire, Rocky and a brand new medley of football songs to make you cheer”

Leave a Reply

