how to write a better-than-average media release

I’ve spent quite a bit of time in the last few months brushing up on my copy writing and ‘content marketing’ technique. And I’m loving Copyblogger more and more.

They’ve just published ‘The 6 Essential Steps to Writing a Killer Press Release’. And it’s brilliant!

Writing media releases is something people involved in Christian mission and church leadership sometimes need to do. Which means it’s definitely worth paying attention to.

To whet your appetite here are the subheadings:

  1. Craft a hook
  2. Add a great headline
  3. Avoid jargon
  4. Provide resources
  5. Proofread
  6. Share your news

Better still, now that Copyblogger have gone on the record, I don’t have to rely soley on this excellent article from St Eutychus.

I’m no longer locked into plagiarising. Now I can call it research!

2 comments

  1. Hey Chris,

    Glad you found my original article useful. The thing I think the CopyBlogger article is missing is that I reckon almost 75% of media release publication is to do with relationship – rather than the actual press release. Towards the end of my career (and it didn’t take all that long) – I was relying more and more on calling up journalists I’d gotten to know with stories and basically pitching them cold, with no release, if they were interested I’d follow that up by writing a release and sending it to them, or I’d just arrange a couple of people for them to talk to…

    Eventually, in the “relationship cycle” the journo will start calling you on slow news days – that’s what I reckon Christian groups should be aiming for. Slow news days offer a great opportunity – because they’re light on content and you don’t have to work so hard to be heard amongst the other stories.

    Thanks for the link. You may have prompted me to write a follow up…

Leave a Reply

