what am I reading?

I know it’s a far cry from the high-minded goals I set for myself earlier in the year, but here’s what I’ve been reading lately. Some of it’s been online:

  • The first instalment of Matt’s exciting new series on the history of the church — 20 centuries in 20 posts (read his intro here).
  • Mark Sayers’ ‘cultural reading’ of Love Winspart 1, part 2, part 3. It’s about the phenomenon as much as the book. Having just finished the book, I’m increasingly convinced that that’s fair enough.
  • Dan’s recent PhD-inspired reflection on forgiveness, stories and principles.

But lots of it has been offline too:

  • Love Wins by Rob Bell
  • Atonement For A ‘Sinless’ Society by Alan Mann
  • The God Delusion by Richard Dawkins
  • The Archer and the Arrow by Phillip Jensen and Paul Grimmond
  • Seeing With New Eyes by David Powlison
  • Galatians by J. Louis Martyn
  • And, feeling the lack of fiction in my diet, I’m about to embark on The Corrections by Jonathan Franzen…

Do you have any recommendations?

3 comments

  1. Hey Chris,
    I am preaching through Galatians and have loved the following books to help me think through the law and justification:

    Perspectives Old and New on Paul – Westerholm
    Justification and Variegated Nomism – Carson et al.
    Paul and the New Perspective – Kim

    Have you checked them out?

    Hans

    1. Hi Hans. Thanks! I looked at Westerholm a bit at college.

      Although I don’t think it says much about Galatians, Michael Bird’s The Saving Righteousness of God is my go-to book on the NPP.

Leave a Reply

